greek theatre review

Last night was my first show at the Greek Theatre – an outdoor arena on the Berkeley campus.  I saw R.E.M. and what a great show it was!  As promised, the band played a mix of old and new songs – I love their new album and all of those songs were performed exceptionally well.  A highlight of their set was the song Driver 8, one with words of personal significance, and I wasn’t expecting to hear it.  Other notes: Sold out crowd; the seating was a little tight for the first part of the show (concrete bleachers with spray-painted numbers), but then two people left and that made it more comfortable.  The stage had a high-tech video backdrop, which you can see in pictures here.  Overall, the venue had great sound and sight lines.

There were two opening acts, the National and Modest Mouse.  As a friend predicted to me last year, I really liked the National – enough to record their set tonight and probably buy an album.  The lead singer had great stage presence, and one of the band members plays a mean fiddle.  On the other hand, I was bored by Modest Mouse.  They didn’t do anything to make me interested in what they were playing – no song introductions and the lead singer seemed to yell the words more than sing them (although he had a pretty voice when he did sing).  The only thing I liked about this band was the two drummers, who at times looked like twins or perhaps a mirror image of each other (too bad they weren’t wearing the same shirt).

Going back again to tonight’s show, same bands, but I have a much better seat – a plastic chair instead of the hard concrete, and closer to the stage.  I’ll probably take my camera, since the bag check is cursory at best.

3 Responses to “greek theatre review”

  1. David Says:

    So glad you posted this. N & I love REM and I see they’ll be at the Mann on the 18th. Thinking of going.

  2. Stasia Says:

    You should go. I’d go again in a second.

  3. What I’m listening to: album review « Them Western Skies Says:

    […] NY.  I’ve been a casual fan since seeing them open for R.E.M. two years ago (see my brief review here), and eagerly grabbed the CD to put it on my office computer (which, alas, does not support […]

Leave a Reply

